top of page

Green Building


The National Green Building Standard (NGBS) is the only green building standard adopted by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). It was launched in 2009 by its developers, the National Association of Homebuilders (NAHB) and the International Code Council (ICC). The standard was revised in 2012.


The NGBS promises to clarify some of the confusion around the term “green” that is often loosely used by many organizations, suppliers and builders. The absence of a standard has meant that many buildings and building components that have been called green have questionable credentials. It is hoped that the NGBS will provide a common benchmark for determining what is and what is not a green home or a green building practice.


The NGBS has four award levels: Emerald, the highest, followed by Gold, Silver and Bronze. To qualify for an award a home must earn a minimum number of points in each of the following six categories:

  • Site Development

  • Resource Efficiency

  • Energy Efficiency

  • Indoor Air Quality

  • Water Efficiency

  • Ongoing maintenance


All of our clients building to the NGBS are also qualifying for the ENERGY STAR as there are significant economies in inspections and in the Energy Efficiency section of the NGBS. This approach also qualifies builders for the CEEF rebates and, if desired, for Challenge Home certification.


If you are considering building to the NGBS it is very important to determine this early in the project and to bring us in as your guide and verifier as early as possible. Many of the early project decisions regarding the site and the design will affect your ability to earn points in various categories and may limit your ability to obtain the certification desired if the consequences of the decisions are not well understood.

Zero Energy Ready Home Program

CEEF Rebates


Among its several energy-efficiency programs, the Connecticut Energy Efficiency Fund offers rebates to homebuilders for new energy-efficient homes and for gut rehabs of existing homes. The program is administered by the two largest electric utility companies in Connecticut, Eversource Energy and The United Illuminating


Company. The program is renewed annually by the Connecticut Department of Public Utility Control (DPUC) based on recommendations from the CEEF and the utility companies. The CEEF is funded by charges on the monthly electricity and natural gas bills of Connecticut consumers.

The 2015 program offers several rebates for new and gut-rehabbed homes

  • A HERS Rating Incentive with rebates in the range of $3,000 - $7,000 for a single-family home

  • Bonus incentives for high-performance home certifications including ENERGY STAR, Challenge Home and the National Green Building Standard

  • Geothermal heating and cooling systems (up to $1,500 per home)

To download a PDF summary of these and other incentives and program application forms please go to the Resources/Information page.

bottom of page